The Washington Area Group for Print Culture Studies  (WAGPCS) aims to provide a regular, monthly forum for those interested in book history–manuscript, print, and digital culture studies and welcomes the participation of everyone interested in print culture (of any period or place). Please email the conveners, Sabrina Baron and Eleanor Shevlin, to be added to our reflector list.

Unless otherwise noted, WAGPCS meets the first Friday of every month from 3:30 to 5:00 pm in the in the Rosenwald Room (LJ 205), 2nd floor, Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress. The Library is located between First and Second Streets, SE in the District of Columbia. Nearest Metro Station for the Blue and Orange Line is Capitol South and for the Red Line is Union Station.

Past presenters include Carol Armbruster, Georgia Barnhill, Greg Barnhisel, Sabrina Baron, Marilyn Barth, Richard Bell, Douglas Boyce, Paul Boyer, Holly Brewer, John Buchtel, Martha Carothers, Roger Chartier, Anne Coldiron, Bernard Cooperman, Lynn Cothern, Daniel De Simone, Mark Dimunation, Michael Dirda, Rachel Doggett, Elizabeth Driver, Don-John Dugas, Christian Dupont, Elizabeth L. Eisenstein, Steve Enniss, Donald Farren, Catharine Field, Oz Frankel, Lisa Gitelman, Albert N. Greco, Stephen Greenberg, Ezra Greenspan, Quint Gregory, Robert A. Gross, August Imholtz, Clare Imholtz, Ann Kelly, Katie King, Matt Kirschenbaum, Sandy Kita, Christopher Kyle, Kendall Larson, Mark Samuels Lasner, Eric N. Lindquist, Kathleen Lynch, Douglas McElrath, Nancy M. Mace, Steven W. May, Jerry McCoy, Steve Mentz, Kate Narvesson, Stan Nelson, David Norbrook, Leslie Overstreet, Catherine Parisian, Jason Peacey, Elise Pugh, Daniel Raff, Chase Richards, Jonathan Rose, Anne Sarah Rubin, Lydia Schurman, Stuart Sherman, William H. Sherman, Martha Nell Smith, Philip Soergel, Jacob Soll, Peter Stallybrass, Bart Thurber, James Tierney, James L. W. West III, Wayne Wiegand, David Whitesell, George Williams, Michael Winship, Paul Wright, Matthew Young, Mary Saracino Zboray, Ronald J. Zboray, Georgianna Ziegler, Joseph Zizek, and Steven N. Zwicker.

For their encouragement and support, the Washington Area Group for Print Culture Studies would like to thank Mark Dimunation, Chief of the Rare Book and Special Collections at the Library of Congress; Stephanie Stillo, Curator of the Lessing J. Rosenwald Collection; Michael North, Head, Reference and Reader Services, Rare Book and Special Collections at the Library of Congress; and Eric Frazier, Reference Librarian at the Library of Congress as well as John Y. Cole, former director of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress and now historian of the Library. We are also grateful to Shirley Liang for the Information Technology support she provides for each and every meeting.


Recent Posts


Friday, September 7, 2018
3:30 to 5:00 pm
Kim Roberts
Co-editor, Beltway Poetry Quarterly and the web exhibit DC Writers’ Homes
“A Literary Guide to Washington, DC:
Walking in the Footsteps of American Writersfrom Francis Scott Key to Zora Neale Hurston”

Please note new location: WAGPCS now meets in the Rosenwald Room (LJ 205), 2nd floor in the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress.
If you have questions or would like to be added to our reflector list, please email us.